U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Appoints New Members to National Honey Board


Firestone, Colo. – U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Thomas J. Vilsack has made the following appointments to the National Honey Board. The appointments are to replace those Board members and alternates whose term ended on December 31, 2011. The term of office for the new appointees began January 1, 2012, and ends December 31, 2014. An appointment was also made to fill a vacant position for the Importer Alternate whose term ends on December 31, 2012. The newly appointed Board members were seated during the March 20, 2012, Board meeting in Atlanta, Georgia. The appointments were made from a list of nominations provided by the qualified national organizations in accordance with the Honey Packers and Importers Research, Promotion, Consumer Education and Industry Information Order. The nominations for the first handler, importer handler, and importer alternates member positions were submitted by the National Honey Packers and Dealers Association (NHPDA) and the Western States Honey Packers and Dealers Association (WSHPDA). The American Honey Producers Association submitted names for the producer positions and their alternates. Members and alternates serve no more than two consecutive terms.

First Handler Member
Nancy J. Gamber-Olcott
First Handler Alternate
Eric S. Wenger

Importer Handler
Hans J. Boedeker
Importer Alternate
Mathias Leitner

Producer Member
Mark A. Jensen
Producer Alternate
Mark Brady

Importer Alternate (Term ends on December 31, 2012)
Charles Kocot

The National Honey Board is a federal research and promotion board under USDA oversight that conducts research, advertising and promotion programs to help maintain and expand markets for honey and honey products. These programs are funded by an assessment of one cent per pound on domestic and imported honey.

Name: Bruce Boynton

Phone: (303) 776-2337

Email: [email protected]